Motor Vehicle Department

The Chaffee County Clerk and Recorder acts as an agent for the Colorado Department of Revenue. The Motor Vehicle Department is responsible for titling and licensing all types of motor vehicles.

Chaffee County does not requirement an emissions inspection for any vehicle registration.

Proof of Insurance is required when registering any vehicle.

In an effort to make payment more convenient, Chaffee County Motor Vehicle Offices accepts credit cards as payment as well as cash and personal checks. When using your credit card, each transaction will be subject to an administrative fee of 2.7%. This fee is paid to a third party that provides this service to Colorado.gov. Therefore, this is not revenue for the State or the County.

Motor Vehicle Plate Renewals

  • Renewal notices are mailed out the last business day prior to the expiration month.
  • Vehicles need to be licensed by the last business day of the month following the month of expiration.
  • Proof of insurance may be required if stated on renewal notice.
  • Renewal can be done by mail, in person, credit card or on line at www.colorado.gov/renewplates.

Late Fees for vehicle registrations

Colorado Senate Bill 09-108, an increase to vehicle registration late fees became law on June 1, 2009. The law requires a late fee assessment of $25 per month for every month past the one month grace period up to a maximum of $100. This fee is assessed in addition to the renewal fees.

New Purchases – Financed

When newly purchased vehicle is financed, a postcard (title complete notice) will be mailed to the new owner (s) when the Clerk’s Office has received the paperwork.

  • Only new owner(s) will be able to purchase license plates.
  • New owner will need to provide proof of insurance, driver’s license, temporary permit registration if applicable and previous vehicle registration if transferring licensing plates.

New Purchases – Not Financed

When newly purchased is not financed, new owner (s) will have properly signed over title and other required documents.

  • New owner(s) purchasing a vehicle from a car dealer will have all the proper documents from the car dealer.
  • Only new owner(s) will be able to purchase license plates.
  • New owner(s) will need to provide proof of insurance, driver’s license, temporary permit registration if applicable and previous vehicle registration if transferring licensing plates.
  • New owner(s) purchasing a vehicle from an individual will have only the title properly signed over.
  • Only new owner(s) will be able to purchase license plates.
  • New owner(s) will need to provide a bill of sale, proof of insurance, driver’s license, temporary permit registration if applicable and previous vehicle registration if transferring licensing plates.
  • If New Owners want title in Joint Tendency with Right of Survivorship, both owners need to be present at the time of application. A form is available if only one owner is available to be present.

Out of State Vehicles

Colorado State Law requires that motor vehicle registrations must be obtained within 90 days of residency, even if the license plates from your previous state of residence are not expired.

Resident means any person who owns or operates a business in Colorado, or any person who has resided in Colorado continuously for a period of 90 days, or has obtained gainful employment in Colorado, whichever shall occur first.

Out of State Vehicles must have a title or a copy of the title (front and back) or current registration, not more than six months expired.

  • Out of State Vehicles need to have the vehicle’s VIN inspected by a local law enforcement, depending on your location. Open tab VIN Inspections for information.
  • Owner will need to provide proof of insurance and current driver’s license.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.